For The Soul Claimed By Misjustice

 

(Note:  I wrote this on April 1, 2012 after weeks of attempting to process the death/murder of  Trayvon Martin.  Watching my son walk off to the bus stop one morning for school,  the idea of losing him on the basis of how he looked or the perception that he was a “threat” due to a hoodie,  his race, or a stereotype was enough to allow me to create the thought.  A little over a year later, it still means enough and I know that it isn’t just emotion but the reality of many).

 

Please….refrain
Before you pull the trigger of judgment
Slow down and see
beyond the hoodie
and past your clouded ideals
My weapons are harmless to you
This bow does not aim arrows
It merely streams melodies of comfort
relates my angst through strings
caressed by deft fingers and controlled flicks of the wrist

Wait! Before you pull the trigger of misdirected justice
See the hopes of my parents through my eyes
They have engineered direction and expectations of success
Know that I am just like you
but that I have to work harder to be exactly where you are
I am loved by many
removing me would destroy the hopes of many more

Please…
Before you craft your necessary lie
Cease my breathing and steal dreams
know that I AM
I am created in His image
as are you
many will argue our interaction
while forgetting that one truth
You cut me down without remembering that I am God’s
standing here with just a bow and my instrument of truth
Please…..

 

Dagan Cello
(in memory of Trayvon Martin and with thoughts of protecting my own beloved son–seen here in his favorite hoodie with his only weapon, his cello.)

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “For The Soul Claimed By Misjustice

  1. Beautiful, Stephanie. My favorite lines are these: “Wait! Before you pull the trigger of misdirected justice / See the hopes of my parents through my eyes / They have engineered direction and expectations of success.” Because, of course, that’s what hits closest to home. I haven’t heard anything about this case for awhile, now, but I followed pretty obsessively for awhile. And I wrote about it, too. http://brandeeshafer.blogspot.com/2012/03/trayvon-martin-sharing-my-heart.html

    1. I just read it and replied, a great point made!
      As for the point hitting close to home, there are always statements about the boy child being the child of the mother’s heart and I have to agree that there is a special kind of closeness. This story threw me so far in to his mother’s shoes that I refrained from posting because it felt too real. I wish that it was enough to be hopeful that we wouldn’t hear a story like this again but the tragedies continue.

  2. Truly touching. I know it’s not on the same level at all, but even my husband having to grow a giant beard for a show made people treat him differently. It has been a sobering and eye opening experience.

    1. Thanks Megan. You know, based on a lot of the things that have been occurring lately I’m starting to believe that prejudice, misjudgment and stereotyping don’t have levels since they often reap the same hateful results. Thanks so much for reading this piece!

Leave a Reply

