Rehab

“Are you addicted to me?”, he asked.
I laughed as I replied.
Denying with partial truths
Appreciative that we shared distance.

Addicted to the feeling of quiet
The offering of “it’s all right” that comes with his presence
Why would I be?

Compelled by the desire to engage
with words and touch and….rings
Hell no.

“Are you addicted to me?”, he asked.
I heard the need for “yes” in his voice
My better sense warned me away from it.
Laughing off honest words with melodious lies

Addicted to the anxiety created by love
Finally needing to run to instead of from
Wanting to stand still and experience
Of course not.

Motivated by crystal hazed frenzy
Jump started by inhaled powder
without doing more than loving?

I and my sponsor laugh at your vanity.

white lines 2

Leave a Reply

