Catch Me

I fell
for late nights
in franchise joints
laughing privately
in corners
inside jokes
at the expense of others

I fell
for morning coffee runs
and pretty moments
the mixed medium
of our personalities
your leather and my suede

I fell
for Anacostia moments
shedding high heels
nearly barefoot
park bench moments
reliving your past
building our future

I fell
in spite of your history
because of your struggle
moving past rocky roads
embracing well paved paths

I fell
securely nestled
against a strong back
during bike rides
hands reaching back
reassuring strokes of my thigh

I fell
for you

I fell
for who you were

I fell
and you caught me
in spite of her

Art by: Laurie Cooper, The Couple

Leave a Reply

